How to delete your WhatsApp account?

Whether want to disconnect, fear of viruses, or to spare the battery of your phone, the reasons to want to leave WhatsApp are many. In this tutorial we will see together how to delete your WhatsApp account.

WhatsApp is one of the most popular instant messaging services in the world, with nearly 1.5 billion users. The application has been endowed for some time with a client for PC and MAC , and also a brand new dark mode . However, despite these improvements and regular additions, WhatsApp also remains one of the most vulnerable apps.

Security vulnerabilities and attacks are recurrent, and the examples are not lacking unfortunately. Despite all these qualities, WhatsApp is not perfect, whether for security or for any other reason, you may want to leave the IM application permanently. Here is the process.

Delete your WhatsApp account in 3 steps

Unlike Spotify , it’s possible to close your WhatsApp account easily from the mobile app:

  1. Open the WhatsApp app on mobile and go to the Settings at the top right of the screen
  2. Go to Account > Delete My Account
  3. Then follow the instructions on the screen to validate the deletion of your account.

Be careful, this operation is irreversible. Once your account deletion is confirmed , you will not be able to retrieve the history of your conversations . If essential / personal / confidential information is there, we recommend that you back up your files before saying goodbye to WhatsApp .

How to back up WhatsApp messages

To save your WhatsApp messages, you will also need to go to Settings> Discussions> Backup. Note that you also have the option to export your discussions. Just open the conversation you want to record, and tap the three small dots > Info or Group Info > Send Chat by Email .

Another clarification, you will not be able to recover your account if you decide to come back one day on the application. WhatsApp also specifies that the copies of some documents like the reports of logs can remain in their database, while being dissociated from personal identifiers.

Last important detail, WhatsApp agrees that your personal information shared with other services belonging to Facebook are also deleted . They are usually erased from the servers within 90 days.

Read Also:How to transfer your apps and settings to a new smartphone